Siddaramaiah Or DK Shivakumar? Congress’ Karnataka Suspense Strikes To Delhi

Siddaramaiah Or DK Shivakumar? Congress’ Karnataka Suspense Strikes To Delhi

Each DK Shivakumar and Siddaramaiah have made no secret of their ambition to turn out to be CM.

New Delhi:

The Congress faces an acid take a look at after its emphatic win in Karnataka meeting polls, with each state chief DK Shivakumar and senior chief Siddaramaiah eyeing the chief minister spot. Mr Siddaramaiah has already reached Delhi. DK Shivakumar has indicated that he must be in Bengaluru by way of the day on account of his birthday, however would attain Delhi by night time.

On Sunday, a crew of observers appointed by Congress met all of the newly-elected Karnataka MLAs to get their vote on who ought to get the highest spot. The crew is now in Delhi for discussions with the celebration’s nationwide management, which incorporates Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge, Sonia Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, and Rahul Gandhi.

The choice will lastly be taken by Mr Kharge, the celebration introduced after the assembly of its Karnataka MLAs yesterday night. Congress Common Secretaries Sushil Kumar Shinde, Deepak Babaria, and Jitendra Singh Alwar had been the observers on the assembly.

The supporters of each DK Shivakumar and Siddaramaiah shouted slogans exterior the Bengaluru resort the place the assembly occurred.

Earlier right this moment, Mr Shivakumar stated that he has carried out the job he was tasked with and now it was as much as the “celebration excessive command” to take a name on who will get the chief minister berth.

“We now have handed a one-line decision. We’ll depart it to the celebration excessive command. I’ve carried out no matter job I’ve to do,” DK Shivakumar stated.

The brand new Karnataka Chief Minister and the cupboard will take oath on Thursday, sources have stated.

Each eight-time MLA Mr Shivakumar and former chief minister Siddaramaiah have made no secret of their ambition to turn out to be Chief Minister and had been concerned in a sport of political one-upmanship prior to now.

Whereas the 60-year-old DK Shivakumar is taken into account to be a “troubleshooter” for the Congress, Siddaramaiah has a pan-Karnataka attraction.

The Congress had entered the marketing campaign section with the problem of protecting at bay the factionalism. After successful 135 seats within the 224-member Karnataka meeting, the celebration put up a united entrance with Mr Kharge and the 2 CM hopefuls addressing the media and celebration staff collectively.

The dimensions of the Congress win is a report by way of each seats and vote share in over 30 years. The closest the Congress got here to this rating was in 1999 when it gained 132 seats and had a vote share of 40.84 per cent. In 1989, it gained 178 seats with a vote share of 43.76 per cent.

The BJP gained solely 66 seats, down from 104 within the 2018 state election. It didn’t win a single seat reserved for Scheduled Tribes (ST) class. Karnataka has 51 reserved constituencies, out of which 36 are for Scheduled Castes (SC) candidates and 15 for ST candidates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.